Hope Wins

images

Last week I was contacted by a woman and asked if I’d be willing to read her story and write about it on my blog.  She initially asked me to reflect back on the holiday season and post about something I’m thankful for as well as share a bit of her story with you.  As I was reading her story and preparing to write the blog as requested, one phrase struck me so powerfully.  The phrase was, “with hope the odds don’t matter.”   I read her story a few times and each time I came back to that phrase.  How powerful and true is that statement?  With hope the odds don’t matter.  Immediately I knew I wouldn’t be writing about reflecting back on the holiday season, but about the power of hope in our lives. I hope Heather doesn’t mind.

Hope, according to Merriam-Webster, means to expect with confidence.  Imagine what we can do when we expect with confidence that something good will happen.  Heather’s story is based on that expectation.  She didn’t give up when the doctors gave her 15 months to live.  She was only 36 when she was diagnosed with pleural mesothelioma.  She had a three-month-old baby girl and a loving husband.  She admits that throughout her life she’s been accused of seeing the world through rose-colored glasses. I think her rosy outlook saved her life.  She expected with confidence that her outcome would be good.  She never gave up and today she is an eight-year mesothelioma cancer survivor. Because she beat the odds and is one of the few long-term survivors, she is on a mission to spread awareness of mesothelioma by sharing her personal story.

Hope is powerful.  I have many friends who have battled and survived cancer.  I am so grateful they have beaten cancer and are living examples of hope for others and myself.

Please visit Heather’s website and help her spread awareness about mesothelioma.  mesothelioma.com/heather

Hope Wins!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hope Wins

Comments welcome

