Phoneography Challenge: Nature

Today’s submission is inspired by sunsets and sunrises.  There is something magical about a sunset.  As evening approaches I find myself looking out to see if the sky will light up and draw me down to the beach to watch the sun slowly descend beyond view.  Some evenings the sunset is so vibrant people stop, pull their car over and jump out to catch a glimpse of the end of the day.  It’s fascinating how we are drawn to sunsets more so than sunrises.  Recently though I’ve fallen in love with the sunrise.  It’s difficult to get out of bed in the dark and cold to see the sunrise, but it’s so worth it.  Watching the sun peek over the horizon or peek over the mountains restores my soul.  The color before sunrise changes gradually from its cool edge to a warm, vibrant center.  It bathes everything in beauty and it changes moment to moment, East to West.  I’ve become a light chaser since I moved to the beach.  Everyday is a new opportunity to see something new and I love it! Below are three of my favorite sunrise photos.  I was out testing a new toy, my watershot housing for my iPhone.  It was a great day.  Which one do you like best?  The light is different in each one and the colors are phenomenal.  It was a beautiful sunrise.

photo

photo copy 2

Sunrise Crystal Cove

Today is the first anniversary of the Phoneography Challenge by Lens and Pens by Sally.  I’ve only been participating for a short time, but I enjoy participating in part because it keeps me blogging and it inspires me.  I also enjoy this community and the people I’ve come to know through their submissions.  Thanks Sally and congratulations!

17 thoughts on “Phoneography Challenge: Nature

  1. Pingback: Phoneography Challenge: Nature | Pilot Fish

    • Thanks so much Amanda! I like them all, but what I like most is how the light changes from East to West. The last photo has such soft colors while the other two are so much more dramatic. A few moments later the sun was up and the beautiful light was gone. Until next time anyway. 🙂
      Thanks for commenting. Have a great day!

  2. Pingback: Phoneography Challenge: reconstructing nature | Zimmerbitch: age is just a (biggish) number

    • Thanks FireBonnet. I think more people are drawn to photos with a focal point as in the second photo. I like hearing what others think. Thanks for commenting. Happy Tuesday!

  3. Pingback: Phoneography Challenge, Your Phone as Your Lens: Celebrating the One-Year Anniversary (Panorama Clicks) | Outreach

  4. Sunrises and sunsets are some of the most beautiful things in nature and endlessly different and beautiful. You captured those ideas perfectly with your photos. I think the second one catches my attention because it shows the beauty but with a different focus and point of comparison. I chose a sunrise, too, although it was quite different.

    janet

    • Thanks Janet! I agree with you. Sunrises and sunsets are endlessly different. Each day is a new opportunity to experience new beauty. Have a great day!

      Dena

  5. Pingback: Phoneography Challenge, Your Phone as Your Lens: Celebrating the One-Year Anniversary (and Nature’s Abundance) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  6. Oh, Dena, these are marvelous. I also forced myself to watch a recent sunrise. The magic of the sunrise and sunset are intertwined in our days. Your images show the amazing power of the early morning light. I must say that the second with the silhouette catered to my immediate attention: “the thinker” contemplating nature with sand, surf and color. Happy Phoneography Monday.

Comments welcome

